Home >

Welcome to SilverSingles.com

All free guest memberships include a free photo personal ad, free browsing, free matching, and the events calendar. Subscribing members access live chat, message boards, Mingle Mail, and more! To browse through thousands of photos and start meeting other singles, click here.

Introduction

I'm told I'm kind, intelligent, and fun. I'm lucky to have many different friends who have been wonderfully supportive, and I think I'm a good friend, too. PLEASE, DON'T CONTACT ME IF YOU LIVE IN ANOTHER STATE BESIDES MINNESOTA.

One of the most profound experiences of my life has been being a parent. Before my daughters were born, I never realized how intensely I could love, how much I could worry, how patient I could be, how much fun I could have.
I've had a comfortable life and just wish more people in the world could be as lucky. Teaching in suburban public schools gave me the experience, though somewhat limited, of seeing the haves and the have-nots of our society. I value compassion and doing my part to heal the world.
After finding out I taught junior high English for 28 years, I've often heard, "What!! Are you crazy?" or "You must be a saint!" Neither, actually. I loved teaching all levels from 7th graders through graduate level university students, though I'm glad I taught the 8th graders when I was in my 20's and not my 50's. They're energetic little people.

Top

Basic Information

GenderFemale
LocationHopkins, MN, USA
Age64

Top

About Me

Height5' 1" (154 cm)
BuildAverage
HairBlonde
EyesBlue
Relationship StatusWidowed
About ChildrenI have children and would welcome yours
Children2
Children home0
SmokingNever
DrinkingOn occasion
ReligionJewish
EducationMaster's degree
Field of Workretired English teacher and university instructor
EthnicityCaucasian / White
Languages SpokenEnglish
Originally FromUSA

Top

Fun Facts

Self-descriptionsmart, funny, compassionate
MusicBlues, Classic Rock, Dance/Disco, Jazz, Movie Soundtracks, Oldies, Rock n Roll, Soul/Rhythm and Blues
Favorite bands and musiciansJames Taylor and Carole King
MovieAction/Adventure, Comedy, Documentary, Drama, Foreign Films, Musical, Mystery, Romance, Science Fiction, Suspense/Thriller
Favorite TV showsHomeland, The Good Wife, 60 Minutes
Outdoor activitySwimming, Tennis, Traveling/Sightseeing
Indoor activityArt, Charity/Volunteering, Cooking/Culinary arts, Dancing, Games, Movies/TV, Music, Opera/Theater, Politics, Reading, Restaurants
My idea of a great tripA few cities in Europe with someone I like a lot--we would need to have a strong, mutual attraction
FoodAmerican, Barbeque, South American, Chinese, European, French, Italian, Jewish/Kosher, Korean, Mediterranean, Mexican, Seafood, Southwestern
Favorite restaurantsCasual: Good Day Cafe, Salut, Maynard's--Special Occasion: Cafe Lurcat Bar La Grassa
PoliticsLiberal
Schools attendedSt. Louis Park High School, University of MN (Twin Cities) both undergrad and graduate school
TimelinessI am usually on time
As for fashionI'm a somewhat fashionable person

Top

Match Preferences

AgeBetween 59 and 69 years old
DistanceWithin 100 miles of Hopkins, MN, USA
HeightBetween 5' 5" (165 cm) and 6' 4" (193 cm)
Body TypeAthletic, Average, Large but muscular
EducationProfessional degree, Bachelor's degree, Master's degree, Doctoral degree
Relationship StatusAny
ReligionAgnostic, Anglican, Atheist, Catholic, Christian, Jewish, Lutheran, Methodist, Protestant, Unitarian Universalist, I'm not affiliated with any religion, I'm not religious, Other
EthnicityCaucasian / White
SmokingNever
DrinkingNever, Rarely, On occasion, Frequently

Top

Essays

What would you like to do on a first date?

Go someplace relatively quiet for coffee or a drink.

Why you should get to know me:

I'm very fun, love great conversations about many topics. I read a lot and I know strange trivia. I'm very kind and completely loyal. I'm also looking for a man to share my life who has integrity, shows affection, is humorous, and interesting.

What have past relationships taught you?

My marriage of 37 years taught me how to discuss problems rather than have them sit and fester. My husband also taught me how to be brave in the face of cancer. I'm more patient and more outgoing because of him. I also learned that our hearts are infinitely expandable. There's room in there for someone else.

Describe some of the most important things in your life:

Without question my children, grandchild, sister, brother-in-law, and dear friends. I love intellectual learning and conversation, music/singing, the feeling that comes after I've exercised, traveling with someone I care about.

Describe your perfect day:

Waking up in a hotel that looks out over an aquamarine ocean. Having coffee ready for me. Breakfast, and then a walk on the beach. Maybe take a jet ski or go snorkeling. Late afternoon nap, a cocktail in the room or a lovely bar overlooking the ocean. Dinner in a great restaurant--one with good food/doesn't have to be expensive-- maybe a small neighborhood restaurant. Bed and ?

One final thing I'd like to mention...

I like watching football, but have been, I confess, a fair weather fan of the Vikings over the last decade or so. You can see in my photos a picture of me as a Vikings cheerleader back in 1966. People are so impressed when they hear I did that until I tell them how blasted cold the old Met Stadium was and that we were high school girls wearing wool sweaters, skirts, and go-go boots. Those rumors about me and Fran Tarkenton are simply not true :-)

I've always loved performing, especially singing and dancing. Before the realities of life hit, I always thought I'd either be a musical theatre star on Broadway or a Rockette. You can imagine how crushed I was when I learned you had to be at least 5'4" to be a Rockette. I'm sure that's the only thing that prevented me from achieving that dream! I now sing with a group of 55 women.

I'm looking to bring even more joy into my life. I've always wanted to take Latin/salsa dancing classes, with or without a rose between my teeth. I want to laugh and explore. I don't want to do that alone. I'd like to travel with someone special to some places I've never been such as the Scandinavian countries, parts of South America, Vancouver, some Eastern European countries, a photographic safari in Africa, a European river cruise. I also would love to return to New York City, Great Britain, Italy, Hawaii. I will NOT be bungee jumping. I have to draw the line somewhere.

Who am I looking for? In brief, someone kind, humorous/witty/fun, intelligent, interesting and interested in the world and ideas. Someone who likes to read and discuss-- likes to travel. He needs to be willing to spend time with my dear family and want to get to know my friends. I want to feel that sizzle of excitement again. By the way, if you support Michele Bachmann and the Tea Party, we probably aren't a good match.